Virginia Maestro (Spain)


Virginia Labuat, born in Linares (Seville). She became well-known, at first, appearing as a contestant in “Operación Triunfo”‘s sixt edition (2008) (Spanish American Idol). Both her particular style and her vocal line struck and chord with the audience, getting a wide and growing support form them. She became a sales success, while she was inside academy. Finally she became the winner of the contes, this way  signinig her first contract with Sony BMG.

In 2009 she gives birth to her first work for the public, being part of Labuat project, which was outlined as an “equilateral triangle” formed out of three vertexes: The Pinker Tones, in the production; Risto Mejide, composition; and Virginia Maestro herself, who provided ther voice and image. Her debut archieved a number 2 in Spanish charts, becoming a hit.

Virginia was chosen to open up for Beyoncé at her concerts in Spain. On 29th of March, 2011 her second work “Dulce Hogar” happens to see the light; under the pen-name of Virginia Labuat. The first single, “The time is now”. The album was highly valued, by the specialized reviewers as well as by the public. She was also the support artist for Seal in the two shows he performed in Spain. The same year she also supported Jamie Cullum’s concert.

In 2013 her brand new album, “Night & Day”, for the first time being the whole album in English.

In 2015 she has presented “Blue bird”.

Virginia is capable of a huge intake of inspiration for composing, singing and playing the guitar, embracing the whole spectrum of American folk music and this way giving rise to an album filled up with a quasi-impressionist perspective which covers, from one end to another, the older blues, to Tim Pan Alley’s world, as well as protrojazz, ragtime, swing, R&R, Motown, folk and even country-music.

More than 200 shows around Spain, but also in UK or Latin America, gives credit for the incomparable sound of Virginia’s live performances.


  • Virginia Labuat: Voice and guitar
  • Nacho Mur: Banjo, mandoline and lapstill
  • Amable Rodríguez: Acoustic guitar
  • David Rodríguez: Drums
  • Sergio Fernández: Bass and contrabass


Videoclip “Make it allright” 2015

Videoclip “The time is now”

Dream Man